Crisis Adverted

This past Saturday I turned 25, dawning of the big “quarter-life crisis”. Yet crisis has been adverted because I am so happy and eager with what life has in store. Already this year is so strong, with an amazing self supporting job doing something that fulfills me creatively. For the first time I’ll be going to Coachella to see one of my favorite artist of all time, Mazzy Star. Camping in my car none the less, adventure and music is in store. To top it all off I have so many independent “projects”  going on I’ll be pushing to always be inspired. On a very personal level I have been off my anti-depressants over a month and have been doing really well. Twenty-five is looking really good!

My friends and family kept me company at my birthday party decorated for a 6 year old. Peace sign and owl plates, confetti, and table clothes were purchased at Party City; along with a dozen balloons. I never got balloons as a kid, so now I am an adult and have the money to treat myself. Why not purchase a dozen balloons?! My family loved all my friends, their open energy. And all my friends (who didn’t know each other before the party) left friends afterwards. Each guest precious, but the early presence of my best friend Esch coming, really set the tone of it being a night filled with love and positive people.

Most of of 2010 I spent in distress over my best friend, knowing something wrong was going on with him and in his life. Terrified I wouldn’t be a part of his life again when he found what he was looking for. We reconnected in November and he came to my party, probably the best spiritual gift of the day! He talked politics with my dad and made a memory card at the crafting table describing our outcast and bandito ways at Prom.

Surrounded by so much love and support, I am pursuing dreams and adventures. Working towards the life I want and know I deserve. So no quarter-life crisis present here, just possibility and motivation to achieve.

Leave a Reply

